REVIEWS FOR Bashful Bear

January 7 2013

 

Jennifer Pritchett posted on Skyview Rentals | Large Vacation Cabins | Pigeon Forge Gatlinburg TN's timeline

"Stayed at the Bashful Bear from Jan 2-7th. And I don't overly much want to review the cabin itself, because it looks exactly like the photos of it, and it is in spectacular shape. I can tell you that the Bear is EXACTLY what is advertised on their website. I DO want to review Patti, Earl, and Jana (their lead housekeeper.)

Prior to booking, I looked at probably every cabin large enough in all the Smokies. We had actually booked another one, but I absolutely HATED dealing with the rental agents for them. They couldn't answer questions, were brusque, short, and unhelpful. When the other rental agency called to cancel our booking (due to the property selling) we wound up dealing with Patti, and then Earl. I cannot, CANNOT possibly extol the virtues of these two. They patiently answered my million questions, were incredibly helpful, friendly, and polite. I would do business with them again in a heartbeat.

My husband is a home dialysis patient, and travel always has a few extra layers of complications because we have to have supplies delivered to our destination. (Think 20 large boxes for a five day stay, no joke.) When I asked Patti about it, she said they could be sent to Jana's. I contacted Jana, who promptly responded that it was no trouble at all. They delivered our supplies to her several days before our expected arrival, and Jana contacted me to let me know they had arrived. She and her husband also delivered them all the way to the cabin. For me, traveling with a total of 8 adult kids and a husband on dialysis, that was a major, MAJOR relief.

We were not sure how to properly use the theater system, called Earl at 8pm, and had friendly, helpful answers in no time flat.

If customer service is important to you, I cannot recommend Skyview enough. :) "

Siblings and Spouses Weekend = 18 People

Guest: Kate (Louisville, KY)
Date of Stay: 12/13/12 Review Submitted: 12/26/12

My husband is one of nine children and was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer (non smoker) 15 months ago. I wanted to give him a gift he would never forget for Christmas. So, I got all eight of his siblings and spouses together and we spent the weekend at Bashful Bear. It was a total surprise to him. This was the first time ever that all 9 were able to do this...and without our 28 kids! The house was perfect for what we wanted to accomplish and we had a great time. Like most families, we spent most of our time in the family room/kitchen area. The table was large enough to fit many of us around it and we ate together and played many games. The fireplaces added a cozy touch. The views were perfect from all floors. The game room was awesome but the room I didn't think we'd use much, ended up being a favorite! They loved the media room! Being a divided family of both Kentucky and Louisville fans, we watched both ballgames in the media room in great comfort! The elevator was perfect for my husband, who can't do all those steps with his medical issues. The kitchen was plenty big enough for our brood. We had a sink issue on the first morning and water leaked everywhere in the kitchen but all we had to do was call Earl and he had someone there to replace it instantly. No worries. We usually stay up in Gatlinburg so this was my first time staying that close to Pigeon Forge and it was perfect. The neighborhood was perfect - just far enough away from town to feel like we were miles away. The house was perfect and I wouldn't change a thing. Patti was great to work with and very accommodating! Thanks for all your help! I'm sure we will be back again in the future!

A Fairy Tale Wedding

Guest: Pat (Baton Rouge, Louisiana)
Date of Stay: 11/29/12 Review Submitted: 12/09/12

Imagine a marriage in a precious chapel and traveling a short ride to the reception site at a beautiful cabin with a spectacular view. As you travel up the mountain to the reception you see the lights from the four story cabin shining like a beacon. When you arrive at the cabin, guests flow from inside the beautiful living area with a fireplace to the large porch overlooking a magnificent view of the mountains. My daughter wanted a small intimate wedding and reception with close friends and family and that is exactly what she had at the beautiful Bashful Bear. We had 30 guests ranging from 5 to 95 years of age and everyone felt comfortable in the cabin. Ten of us actually stayed in the cabin and were able to do all the preparation for the reception right there. The catering company easily worked around the large kitchen preparing the food. Earl and Patti were amazing in helping us with every detail as we prepared for the wedding. They could not have been kinder with their assistance and time. The pictures are exactly what you will experience at the Bashful Bear. The beds were super and everything was clean. The floors are beautiful, the rooms comfortable and attractively furnished but the very best is the view, the view. Our time at the Bashful Bear will be a treasured memory our family will have forever. We just can’t wait to go back!

Owner response:I'm glad you had such a fantastic wedding at our spectacular cabin. We are so glad we could provide your dream destination and help make your daughter's wedding at The Bashful Bear so memorable. We look forward to having you and the rest of your family stay with us again. Thanks, from all of us at SkyView Rentals. Patti Byrd & Earl Martin

The Girlfriends Getaway 2011

Guest: Terry (Royal Palm Beach, Florida)
Date of Stay: 10/01/11 Review Submitted: 10/12/11

Fourteen of us, from all over the U.S., met for several days at The Bashful Bear. We had a WONDERFUL time!!! The house was as beautiful as the pictures show! We were all blown away!!! During our week, we went to Dollywood, did loads of shopping and went to the Titanic Museum--which all of us loved. If you're thinking of staying here, you won't be disappointed! The house is huge, very comfortable, the movie room is awesome, loved all the games in the loft, the mountain views are spectacular, and it's the perfect place for a large crowd. While there, be sure to eat at Bennett's Barbeque--really really good...and for breakfast, nothing beats The Pancake Pantry in Gatlinburg!

Owner response:Thank you so much Terry! We loved having you and all the girlfriends stay at The Bashful Bear while you enjoyed Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. Hope you all can come back another time in the future and be our guests!

             

Look no further...BOOK THE BASHFUL BEAR!

Guest: Jessica (Kentucky)
Date of Stay: 07/29/11 Review Submitted: 08/07/11

Simply Amazing!! My family (16 of us!) decided last minute to do a family get together due to our grandmother falling ill. We wanted to all be together to make memories, but also needed some space! We LOVED the Bashful Bear. The cabin is amazing! We had a wonderful time cooking together, playing in the game room, watching movies, and sitting on the decks overlooking the mountains. Unfortunately my son got stung by wasps as soon as we got there. We called the owner of the cabin to ask where the nearest hospital was and he had someone come out as soon as possible to spray for wasps! We had everything we needed in the cabin to prepare large dinners..The booking process was simple and convenient and the communication was WONDERFUL! Thank you to everyone for giving my family a weekend we will treasure forever!!!

Guest Comment Entered by Owner

Making plans to return!

Guest: Keith Coffman
Date of Stay: 06/27/09 Review Submitted: 02/03/10

There were 18 of us here this week from ages 3 to 89! We came from Seattle, Michigan, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia and North Carolina. We had a great time. The cabin was awesome with plenty of room. Morning coffee on the deck, watching the Smokies, was a great way to start our days. The week was filled with fun, food and laughter. Our families got to reunite and make more memories together. We are already making plans for our return!

Guest Comment Entered by Owner

I felt like Donald Trump...

Guest: Devin Nelloms
Date of Stay: 05/03/09 Review Submitted: 02/03/10

Three days was not enough! We had a great time here at The Bashful Bear. I'm so full now after the incredible cooking we did. This is my second time here and we plan on being back real soon. The cabin was wonderful. I felt rich for once in my life! LOL! I felt like Donald Trump! Thanks for our great weekend!

Guest Comment Entered by Owner

A time to remember...

Guest: Jose Lopez
Date of Stay: 04/06/09 Review Submitted: 02/03/10

Had a great time and a heck of a work out up and down the steps! Spent time with friends and family...party, party, party! A time to remember...got to spend time away from work. Both my wife and I loved the cabin, the view, and the food: man was it good!

Guest Comment Entered by Owner

Marriage Celebration

Guest: Jennifer Kawlewski
Date of Stay: 03/28/09 Review Submitted: 02/03/10

The cabin was beautiful. My family from all over the country joined us to celebrate my marriage. Everything was wonderful. We all enjoyed ourselves: from Grandparents to small children! We want to make this a yearly tradition!

Guest Comment Entered by Owner

A lot of fun!

Guest: Natalie (a Grandchild)
Date of Stay: 03/19/09 Review Submitted: 02/03/10

So much to do, so little time. A lot of fun!

Guest Comment Entered by Owner

Breathtaking views!

Guest: Sheila Lyons
Date of Stay: 03/13/09 Review Submitted: 02/03/10

I am with the Youth Group from Roan St. Church of God in Elizabethton, TN. There are 19 of us staying here this weekend. I think your cabin is amazing! Four of the lady chaperones came down one night early to relax before the rest of the gang came. I haven't spent such a relaxing evening in a very long time. We enjoyed the hot tub so much, and the views from here are breathtaking! I'm sure when the rest of the Youth Group gets here, they will find it amazing also. Thank you for such a wonderful stay. God bless!